You are here
Home > EDUCATION > Babalakin chairs new team to renegotiate FG, ASUU agreement

Babalakin chairs new team to renegotiate FG, ASUU agreement

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved a 16-member new Federal Government team to renegotiate the 2009 agreement with unions in federal universities, federal polytechnics and federal colleges of education in order to ensure sustainable peace and industrial harmony in tertiary institutions in the country.

Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu, in a statement issued by the ministry in Abuja on Friday, said the re-negotiation team would dialogue with the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT) and Non-Academic Staff Union of Associated & Allied Institutions (NASU).

The 16-member team is chaired by Dr. Wale Babalakin, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN).

Babalakin, who was adjudged the best pro-chancellor at the time of the negotiations in 2009, headed the agreement implementation committee then.

Meanwhile, Buhari has also approved the reconstitution of the governing councils of university of Port

Harcourt and Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, which were dissolved following the recent crises that engulfed the two institutions.

The new governing councils would serve for a term of four years, in the first instance, effective from December 28, 2016.

The government team comprises the following: Dr. Wale Babalakin, SAN (Chairman); Prof. M.M. Jibril, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Lafia; Prof. Nimi Briggs, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Lokoja; Senator Gbemisola Saraki, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Otuoke; Arc. Lawrence Ngbale, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Birnin Kebbi; Prince Alex Mbata, Pro-Chancellor, Imo State University, Owerri and Prof. OlufemiBamiro, Pro-Chancellor, Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun. Representatives, Federal Ministry of Education.

Others are Representative, Federal Ministry of Labour & Employment; Representative, Federal Ministry of Finance; Representative, Federal Ministry of Justice; Representative, Federal Ministry of Budget & National Planning; Representative of the National Salaries, Incomes & Wages Commission (NSIWC) and Representative of the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF).

Members of the new governing council of OAU include Dr Yemi Ogunbiyi (Chairman), Prof Felix U. Madubuike, Mr. Inowei Akono, Mr. Adekunle Sanni and Muhammad Bello Kaoje, while those of UNIPORT are Prof Mvendega Jibo (Chairman), Chief Johnson Okafor, Mr. Joseph Fafi, Hajia Lubabatu Lawal Ammani and M. Bello Dukku.

Leave a Reply